2014 World Cup Guide

2014 World Cup Guide This summer's World Cup will take place in Brazil, 64 years after the country hosted the 1950 competition. It will follow the same format as it has since 1998, with teams divided into groups of four and the top two qualifying for the knockout stages.

The tournament looks set to be exciting from the start. Most World Cups feature a 'Group of Death' but this competition has three groups that could claim the title. The opening week will see Spain take on the Netherlands, England playing Italy, and Germany coming up against Portugal.

Whether such big European sides can prosper remains to be seen, with South American teams having won on every occasion that the World Cup has been staged in the continent. As a result, Brazil and Argentina are seen as favourites for the title, but there are many other sides that are also in contention.

Sections in 2014 WORLD CUP GUIDE:

» City Guide
» Team Guide
» Travel Advice
» Results