Indonesia To Extend Visa Waivers To Five More Countries

By Haruna Kobayashi, for 01 December, 2014

Indonesia is set to introduce visa-free travel for short-term visitors from Australia, China, Japan, South Korea, and Russia.

Tourists from the five countries account for 54 percent of all arrivals to Indonesia. Officials hope that allowing visa-free visits of up to 30 days from these locations will attract an extra 500,000 visitors each year and increase revenues by USD540m.

Speaking at a press conference, the Minister for Tourism, Arief Yahya, said that China and Japan would be the first to benefit, with visa-free entry from the first quarter of 2015.

Nationals from fifteen countries can already visit Indonesia for 30 days visa-free. These include: Brunei, Cambodia, Chile, Ecuador, Hong Kong, Laos, Macau, Malaysia, Morocco, Myanmar, Peru, Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand.

Tags: Russia | China | Travel And Tourism | Indonesia | Korea, South | Japan | Expats | Travel | Visas And Passports |


News Archive