UK Expands Registered Traveler Service To Asian States

By Fiona Moore, for 03 February, 2016

Frequently travelers from Hong Kong, Singapore, South Korea, and Taiwan to the UK can now apply to be part of the UK's Registered Traveler service.

The scheme, which currently has 40,000 members, was introduced in April 2015 for frequent visitors to the UK from Australia, Canada, Japan, New Zealand, and the US. It enables registered travelers to pass security checks more quickly, by using dedicated lanes.

In order to qualify, applicants must hold a UK visa or have visited the UK a minimum of four times in the previous two years. Applications must be completed online and cost GBP70 (USD100). Once an application is accepted, there is a GBP50 annual renewal charge.

Registered Travellers with biometric passports can use the ePassport Gates and can enter via the EU/UK controls at Heathrow and other participating ports (London City, Stansted, Birmingham, East Midlands, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Luton, Manchester and at Eurostar terminals at Paris, Brussels and Lille). The service is to be rolled out to Bristol and Cardiff in the coming months.

Tags: Australia | Singapore | Taiwan | United Kingdom | Canada | Hong Kong | Korea, South | New Zealand | Japan | Expats | Travel | Visas And Passports |


News Archive